You are here


Local Government in Kazakhstan.

For purposes of local government, Kazakhstan is divided into 14 administrative regions, called oblystar in Kazakh and oblasts in Russian. These units are administered by councils (in Kazakh, maslikhat) that are directly elected for four-year terms.
The councils implement national policies on the local level and coordinate these policies with the individual needs of their particular region. Although the councils wield considerable authority, the system ensures that ultimate power lies with the national government.
The president of the republic appoints the senior administrators (akims) of each region. The akims head the councils and can override council decisions. Furthermore, the president of the republic may cancel or suspend acts of the akims.

"Zhetysu is the Land of  tourism”. A Tourist Guide-book. Almaty.  2003. 68 p. and the material for this page is taken from the printed edition."Guide to Kazakhstan" Baur Publishing House. 2002